LG Polls: Kwara APC Primary Election Holds Today, Aspirants Await Fate

The All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kwara State has announced that it will hold its primary election on Tuesday to select candidates for the upcoming local government elections scheduled for September 21.

According to the party’s Secretary, Alhaji Mustapha Ishowo, the primary election will produce 16 chairmanship and 193 councillorship candidates across the 16 local government areas of the state.

This comes after the Kwara State Independent Electoral Commission (KWSIEC) extended the deadline for submission of candidates to July 4, prompting the APC to postpone its primary election initially scheduled for last week.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) had earlier conducted its primary election for councillorship and chairmanship positions on Wednesday and Thursday, respectively, with Musbau Esinrogunjo, a former aide to Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, emerging as the PDP candidate for Ilorin West local government.

A total of 13 political parties, including the Social Democratic Party (SDP), New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), and Labour Party, are participating in the local government election, which is the first under Governor AbdulRazaq’s administration in Kwara State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button